Are we too harsh?

That’s a funny question to ask these days, since people seem to be very sensitive, or assume that others are sensitive. But because social media has opened up such an easy outlet, people are able to subject the world to their opinions with ease. There are not always immediate consequences, and in places like the United States, usually the worst thing that can happen is an offensive reply to your comment, video or post. Words can be hurtful, but if that’s the worst foreseen consequence, then what is there to fear?

While I’m commenting on our society, which I tend to do because I like an overall perspective, I want to talk about movies in this post. This blog tends to be more about entertainment, so that’s no surprise. But what I’ve observed, ever since being introduced to internet movie critics, is that people seem to be so unhappy these days. Is it because negative opinions stick out more? Is it because everyone now has the opportunity to be a critic thanks to the internet? And could it be that we just have higher expectations now for whatever reason? Maybe it varies within seasons, and maybe this moves from movie to movie, depending on how it’s marketed. For example: The battle between Marvel and DC is one that everyone in the US seems to be affected by. The popular opinion is: Marvel is fun and better! DC is too gritty and serious, so therefore it’s hard to take it seriously…

But what do you think? I’m sure most people are somewhere in the middle, rather than on just one end of the bar. I know I’m in the middle. I think people were to harsh to judge Man of Steel in my opinion. I think this case was because of expectations. Same with the new Batman played by Ben Affleck: they expected Christopher Nolan’s adaption. I was not a big fan of Dawn of Justice, but I wasn’t disappointed by this Batman. It’s all a mixture of people and emotions, but one thing has stood out to me: these days, everyone is a movie critic, instead of a movie lover. When I say everyone, I am exaggerating of course. But even when people don’t have a blog or YouTube channel as their platform, they all have decided they have their reasons for why this or that movie sucked. I thought people used to enjoy movies. I enjoy movies!

Thoughts?

Leave a comment