Just watched…Zootopia

I’m sure plenty of you are aware of this one!  I really liked it.  It’s definitely one that can entertain kids and adults.  And there is so much going on, it’s easy to miss stuff the first time.  That makes for different experiences every time you watch it, which is always a good thing in my opinion.

I loved the culture, which reflected modern life, even through the actions of animals!  I constantly noticed how the characters looked at their phones, and how the media was reflective of our modern media.  Also, just when I thought it was going to follow a very tired formula (who was behind the missing animals), it actually became even BIGGER than that.  I was grateful for that!  The characters are likable, from the strict head of the ZPD, to the godfather parody family.  There wasn’t really anything that made me roll my eyes, either.  I think anything that didn’t cause me to a laugh was there for the kids, which is obviously an important element.

I especially loved the entire scene of Hopps training in the police academy.  Just watching her determination was thrilling, and I thought they did a wonderful job with her character.  Particularly her first day on the job- haven’t we all been there, in some way?  Goodwin did an excellent job portraying her! 😀

They did incorporate politics into the story, which obviously helps the adults to appreciate it.  But what do you think about bringing those “adult” elements in?  Do you feel like it’s out of place?  Innuendos are not anything new in kids movies and shows, but what about political commentary?

Leave a comment